What did I tell you

You’re probably asking why routine slips of the tongue continually become news headlines when they have absolutely no impact at all on the candidates’ positions or platforms, or what they intend to do in office, or how capable they are of doing it, or anything else. Good fucking question! The answer is that many (if not most) people don’t follow politics in order to find out who to vote for as part of their duty as citizens living in a democracy. They follow it purely as a form of entertainment. They’re like sports fans, rooting for their “team” to win.David Wong, Cracked.com. (Bolds mine — TS)

(As an addendum to this.) Yes yes yes, a thousand times yes. It’s not just me, people.

9 thoughts on “What did I tell you

  1. And there is so much more! For instance, this:

    Did you know that all of this is petty schoolyard bullshit that wastes valuable time and energy that you’ll never get back?

    “Petty schoolyard bullshit.” “PETTY SCHOOLYARD BULLSHIT.” I love David Wong and want to have his babies. Okay, not really, babies are gross, but for God’s sakes, I AM NOT ALONE. Nobody listens to me when I tell them that getting back at the Obama campaign via some petty bullshit for some petty bullshit they did to the Romney campaign is not the most important thing ever, but I know a lot of conservatives and libertarians read Cracked.com. (Really, it’s almost like their own Daily Show with multiple Jon Stewarts. And what’s really funny is I’m pretty sure that the idea that conservatives and libertarians feel this way about Cracked.com would horrify most of the writers at Cracked.com. It’s a funny old world.)

    • What’s even odder was a couple years back on Ace’s blog the politics every minute crowd was so wrapped up in a silly primary in Delaware that they *entirely missed* the fact that their side was sweeping up 100 seats in the actual election.

      I’ve seen too many crappy Presidents go by to get frothy at the mouth any more. Actually I didn’t then, and I had Carter to look at.

      If you like the Cracked tone, and history, you might like the Badass of the Week that you can find by googling.

      • I’ve been reading Cracked for a while (since it was a paper mag, in fact), but their “tone” isn’t something I seek out in other places. I like variety. I’ve not read much of the Badass of the Week site — except for the entries on Tesla and the Japanese guy who saved a bunch of people after the earthquake, it seems mostly to be macho “look at how cool these bloodthirsty macho males are.” I mean, it’s kind of one-note. On the other hand, I did like this. It was rather sweet, in a violent way, and it’s nice to see Indonesia talked about other than as the country where the president ate a puppy.

      • See? Sucks you in.

        Something about the combination of the real research in finding these stories and the modern day gamer / tv- movie lingo and references has way more charm than I would have thought if someone described it to me.

  2. I grew up in Louisiana where politics is entertainment. How else do you think Edwin Edwards kept getting re-elected? Or Earl Long?

    The only difference between Louisiana (on that score) and the rest of the Union is that Louisiana is being honest about it.

    • Heh heh. I grew up in Florida where politics is a free-for-all. I feel your pain.

  3. Are independents less likely to regard it as a sport? Or do they still sit on the sidelines and watch in amusement (albeit without much investment in either “team”)?

    The American political sideshow is mostly boring anyway. For real entertainment I occasionally turn to Youtube videos of House of Commons debates in England. Now there’s a blood sport. When they’re worked up they can go at each other with savage eloquence (and boos and hisses). They’ve got to be on their toes all the time. This style of politics doesn’t necessarily lead to better policy decisions but it’s more interesting. Not like the debates here, with their two-minute over-rehearsed sound bites.

Comments are closed.