This is pretty much what I think.

Clarissa's Blog

Many Conservatives long for a non-existent, mythologized past while many Progressives long for a non-existent, mythologized future. Such Conservatives reject certain aspects of the present objective reality because it doesn’t fit into their doctrine. In the meanwhile, the Progressives reject the way human beings actually are because only the completely different, vastly improved human beings will fit into their doctrine.

Neither group is all that interested in existing people and actual reality. I, for one, can’t say whether I prefer a political movement that exists for the sake of an impossible past or the one that exists for the sake of an equally impossible future. I also can’t say whether a political group that considers people to be a lot worse than they are is preferable to the group that considers human beings to be a lot better than they are.

There is too much myth-making on both sides.

View original post

One thought on “

  1. There’s something in what she says. I don’t think it would describe myself, or a lot of other people. I don’t know if I’m Conservative—but I sure am Right Wing. A little too much name-calling from liberals, Leftists, Progressives, whatever you choose to call them, over the years. A little too many attempts to round up various victim groups to stock the liberal plantation. Many other things, they all add up to my not wishing to be confused for one. A negative identity, rather than a positive one.

    Might as well be hung for a sheep, as a lamb.

Comments are closed.